Long-distance on Mother’s Day

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden, fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends who rejoice with us in our sunshine desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.” –Washington Irving


Words can’t fully express how much I miss this beautiful woman.

God has blessed me with and an incredible mother and one of my dearest friends. Lord knows I wouldn’t be able to live abroad in Japan and doing all that I am without her continual love and support.

I miss our coffee and sushi dates, our day trips and road trips, and talking about everything after work or while shopping. I miss going to farmers markets and going out of our way to experience the best coffee roasters in town. I miss her good-humored but quizzical look when I explain something that doesn’t need explaining. I miss her tolerance in my love for good animated films. I miss her health food dinner experiments that always turn out to be quite tasty and rarely need minimal tweaking.

I miss sitting down on the couches at the beginning or end of a day, talking about the latest self-help books we were reading. Or sometimes I’d just watch her brow furrow as she tried solving her latest Bonza puzzle. Other times, I’d be only halfway listening as she’d read off her Facebook friends’ latest happenings… Both of us knowing I was more interested in the book I was reading, but both of us quietly glad for the interruption and time together.

I miss being able to call her up on a whim in the middle of the day, just because I felt like it. Sure, we can video chat regularly, and I marvel and am grateful for the technology that allows us to do this so easily nowadays. Yet, it’s hard when you’ve been wanting to talk all day and you know it’s only 3:00 a.m. at your mom’s house. Not the most ideal time to make a phone call.

Yet more than anything else, I miss being in church with her, discussing God’s word together and finding ways to share it. I miss hearing her clear voice carry throughout the church when we sing hymns (though I’ll admit, I can still hear her voice when I watch my home church’s video service online). I miss reading my Bible with her and talking about a new aspect or layer in the passages that we hadn’t considered before. It’s the most lasting legacy from her and my dad that I’ve been given, and I will always miss sharing this joy together.

Even though family life is challenging at times, all these things remind me of a simple truth. The hearts of mothers and daughters call to each other and long to be near one another; no amount of time or distance changes that.

Someday, we’ll do all of these things together again.

But for now, and with all my heart, Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

“A mother’s happiness is like a beacon, lighting up the future but reflected also on the past in the guise of fond memories.” –Honore de Balzac

Leave a Reply

